Home | Contact Us | Site Map
You are here / Parents / Assessment Information
Assessment Information

New Grades for GCSE

In summer 2017, students' GCSE English and GCSE Maths exam results will be graded from 9 - 1 instead of from A* - G. In summer 2018 most subjects will be graded this way and from summer 2019, all GCSE subjects will be graded this way.

Why is the current system changing? The government says…
The new GCSEs, which have begun teaching in September 2015, are intended to be more challenging.

The changes to the grading system will help to provide more differentiation between the highest and lowest performing students, and the standard for a 'good pass' is slightly higher than before.

Year 10 are the first cohort in school to experience these changes and consequently their target grades and “currently working at” (CWA) grades for English and maths will now be in 9-1 form. Attached are some examples of the grade criteria in English and maths. For all other subjects the grades will still be in A*-G format.

Key Stage 3 Assessment

The requirement for schools to use a levels system of assessing children at Key Stage 3 has been removed by the government. It is now up to the schools to come up with their own methods of assessing and tracking their pupils.

At Chiltern edge we are continuing to use levels in years 8 and 9 for the moment. In year 7 we are trialling a new system in English & maths, based on the new GCSE 9-1 grading system. As, in year 7, some students will not have reached the lowest GCSE grade (grade 1) we are introducing three transition grades T1, T2 & T3. The grading system will look like this…

High  9  8  7  6  5  4  3  2  1  T3  T2  T1  Low

Please see separate examples of the criteria for each grade.

Students in year 7 will be assessed in English and maths using the above scale and their “currently working at” and target grades will be reported in this way. Please note, the target grade will be a GCSE grade (9-1) for the end of year 11. In due course we hope to be able to produce a target for the end of each year, in these subjects.

For all other subjects, assessment and targets will be in levels and the targets will be for the end of the current year.